Singapore Swimming Proficiency Awards


Singapore Swimming Proficiency Awards
Singapore Swimming Proficiency Award (SSPA) is a new initiative by Singapore Swimming Association which launched in 2013, an award structured to promote swimming proficiency as the platform for swimmers to enjoy all aquatic sports.

The main objectives are:

  • To Provide progression for swimming after SwimSafer
  • To raise the level of swimming proficiency of students and the general public
  • To increase the level of technical expertise among our swimming coaches
  • To provide a talent pool for the next generation of Singapore competitive swimmers
SSPA Symbol
A total of 20 certificates and badges can be attained if the swimmer completes all the level. Nonetheless, the swimmer may wish to challenge himself or herself by attempting any particular level of swim test.
In completion of level 1, 2 or 3, the swimmer has an option to purchase a rainbow certificate and badge.
Level 1 to 3
Types Level 1 (50m)Level 2 (100m)Level 3 (200m)
Color of Badges & CertificateGreenRedBlue
Symbol/CharacterSea LionTurtleStingray
Front Crawl≤1:05≤2:30≤5:20
Individual Medley –≤3:00≤7:00
Level 4 to 6
TypesLevel 4 (400m)Level 5 (800m)Level 6 (1500m)
Color of Badges & CertificateBronzeSilverGold
Front Crawl≤10:40≤21:20≤40:00
Individual Medley – –

Test Details


Test CentersFrequencyTarget Audience
– Toa Payoh Swimming Complex
Every quarter:
Last weekend of the month 9am to 1 pm
• Students
• Public
– Short-course / Olympic-sized Pools
– Preferably with starting blocks
– Lanes lines (compulsory)
Use of public pools or upon request from schools• Schools
• Clubs
• Public